Posts tagged with "quickie divorce"

Can I Get a “Quickie” Divorce in Connecticut?

In Connecticut there is a mandatory 90 day waiting period which starts running 12 days after your divorce papers have been served.  Therefore any divorce is likely to take close to four months.  However, if there are any contested financial or custodial issues then the divorce will likely take much longer than four months to settle.  If you are moving out of the state it is important to know that you must be living in Connecticut to file for divorce in Connecticut.

It may be wise to first determine where you would like to establish residence and then consult an attorney in that state. If you have any further questions related to family law in Connecticut, please contact Joseph C. Maya, Esq. at (203) 221-3100 or e-mail him directly at